Barwise Prize

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Barwise Prize

Post  Admin on Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:21 am

The American Philosophical Association, in conjunction with the APA Committee on Philosophy and Computers, has established a Barwise Prize for significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing. The Prize will serve to credit those within our profession for their life-long efforts in this field. It will also serve to acknowledge and to encourage work in all areas relevant to the "computational turn" that is occurring in philosophy profession.


Award Winners will offer a keynote talk at a Computing and Philosophy conference as well as a talk at one of the regional APA meetings (sponsored by the APA Committee on Philosophy and Computers).


There are no submission or nomination procedures. The awardee is chosen by the committee.


Dr. James Moor from Dartmouth Collegeis the fifth recipient of the Barwise Prize.

Dr. Hubert Dreyfus from Dreyfus UC - Berkeley is the fourth recipient of the Barwise Prize.

Dr. Deborah Johnson from the University of Virginia is the third recipient of the Barwise Prize.

Dr. Daniel Dennett from Tufts University is the second recipient of the Barwise Prize.

Dr. Patrick Suppes from Stanford University is the first recipient of the Barwise Prize.


Posts : 1449
Join date : 2010-01-24
Location : Egypt

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum